A Runner’s Heart

“One kilometer to go.” 

The thighs are just not cooperating. Each steps are getting harder. The breathing pattern is now a big mess. I cannot control my breathing any longer. Inhales and exhales is now working against myself. I am soaked in my own sweat and the wind just seem to only blow against my direction. 

Sweats are running down along the side of mycheeks, legs are heavy, and breathing is becoming more and more difficult. I remind myself to maintain the form: chin up, eyes straight, upper body relaxed and natural. I’m running out of energy. The only thing that keep me forward is the will power. Every strides fuel my mental energy knowing that I am that much closer to the finish line. Imagining that you are running alongside me helps tremendously. 

Human are considered among the best distance runners among all running animals.The human bodies can endure long distance running. Here is my best kept secret, I used to hate running. I have never been a fan of long-distance running since high school. Although I like to think that I maintain a healthy lifestyle and is physically capable your average Americans. But running is just not my cup of tea. It requires a lot of stamina and most of all, mental strength.

It all changed five moths ago when I discovered that running is one of the favorite physical exercise that she enjoys. Did you know that she is a champion of a 10K running event? Here’s a picture to prove that:

15045828_194365290dsa2621374_1195997868_n

So I want to become a part of her through running. It was not that I stopped hating the concept of running, but it is more of my eager to connect with her. And I think it was worth it.Running becomes a second nature when I met her. Every week I actively fit running into my day to day schedule. I do this because, up until her, I did not have any reasons to run. It was a tough transition. One just does not pick of running and expect to be excellent. Although I struggled in the beginning, but eventually, it did get a bit easier. Maybe because my physical fitness is adapting to the process. However, I believe that the biggest contribution to my running success is her.

In medical terms, running improves aerobic fitness by increasing the activity of enzymes and hormones that stimulate the muscles and the heart to work more efficiently. In addition, running activities improves the cardio-respiratory system, (the heart, lungs and blood vessels).

Every time I crossed the finish line, I realized that I hate running less and less. In fact, I do enjoy running. It is healthy to run regularly, but that is not the reason I do it. I run because it connects and strengthens both yours and my heart. I am happy when I run; it reminds me of you. In my heart, I can feel your presence while running through the breeze. A runner’s heart.

One thought on “A Runner’s Heart

  1. ^^

    หยุดยิ้มไม่ได้เลย
    ขอบคุณนะคะ ขอบคุณมาก

    แล้วเราไปวิ่งด้วยกันนะ

    Like

Leave a Reply

